New to Mac

Reaction score
I'm not exactly a switcher, more of an "additional-er" since I won't (can't) drop windows all together.

I am actually a network administrator that works on XP/2003 machines day in and day out and to tell you the truth I have had no real issues with them.

I do, however, like to play with other OSes and explore around so I picked up a standard config Mac Pro but ordered an additional 2GBs or ram (from newegg since Apple's prices are extreme). I have to say that I haven't felt so giddy over a new purchase in quite some time.

Just wanted to stop in and say hello!

T

todd51

Hello kirby and welcome to Mac-Forums!! Glad you decided to try out OSX. I also know how you feel about being "giddy" about the new purchase. :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black MacBook- 2.2GHz, 1gb RAM, 160GB, Double-Layer Superdrive.
why dont you just install windows on it using bootcamp?

OP
kirby14
Reaction score
why dont you just install windows on it using bootcamp?

I plan on just running windows in parallels, I was just saying that I can't get rid of windows all together. Not that I would really want to anyway, but I do love the fact that I can run OS X and Windows on the same machine.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MacBook Pro w/ 2.4 GHz C2D, 4 GB RAM, 250 GB
Congrats on the new purchase. Just keep in mind that if you do anything graphics intensive on Windows, you'll want to install it in Boot Camp to allow the OS to fully utilize the hardware. For what it's worth, I have XP w/ Boot Camp, but I also use Fusion to run said partition when I don't need to do anything intensive. I love the ability to choose whether or not I need to restart my computer just to use Windows.

Good luck,
Damien

Reaction score
first of all congrats on the purchase...
and as a boot camp user myself I have to say that bootcamp sure is fun;)