Yea so i messed up big time.....

Reaction score
Well after the 40min drive, the 15 min walk, the 30 min wait.... I got the macbookpro exactly how i wanted it except... I didn't get the high res screen :(.

I'm currently carless and because of my work, I needed to continue installing programs and configuring my mac so it was possible for me to get my work done.

I plan to go back to the apple store in a few days to switch my mac to the high res one, but i have the following question...

I'm new to mac and not sure how to do this, but is there anyway i can save my mac settings, program settings, installed programs, desktop/dock settings, etc... So don't have to spend time doing it all over again on the new macbook?

I have an external drive.

Thank you in advance for your replies

Reaction score
You can use Migration assistant if you are going to the apple store they will be able to do this for you simply by connecting your old and new mac together via firewire. This will transfer files, user settings etc over to you nice new MBP.

OP
D
Reaction score
they told me if i wanted to transfer data, i would have to leave the macbook there for a few days :(.

Reaction score
Humm strange usually it's a quick process. Maybe you could make a time machine back up? I've not had any experience with time machine myself though.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod Classic | iPod Shuffle | no more money
If you have Leopard on this MBP make sure it's using your external drive as the time machine drive - it will back up your entire system.

Once you get your new Mac insert the Leopard DVD so that the install begins; you're asked what language you want to use and a few moments later you see the start of the installation - look at the top of the screen, one of the menu options is Utilities and there is an option in this menu to restore a time machine backup - choose this.