I'm finally a mac user :)

Reaction score
Hello,

After years and years of being a PC user from DOS to windows, I finally made the switch to Mac. I just bought a macbook pro with leopard.

Was wondering if theres any freeware or widgets I should know about to get my feet wet and make the most out of my new mac?

I'm a web developer and I deal alot with php coding, graphics, and shell prompts for linux servers. So any tools that can assist me in that area would be great. Although I do have Adobe CS3.

Also i'm trying to find mac replacements for two very crucial windows programs I used which were:

1. www.SmartFTP.com - Mainly used for it's upload/download queue which allowed me to upload/download multiple files at the same time and also allowed me to view which files didn't transfer correctly so i can manually upload them myself. It also allowed me to pause the queues.

2.http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/ - it's a secure SSH program that I used to log into my linux box so i can administer it.

-----

If anyone can help me find free replacements for the above programs, and direct me to any other widgets or programs that might be beneficial to me then that would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much in advance for your replies. :)

M

MacHeadCase

Welcome to Mac-Forums, damainman.

I'm not Windoze-savvy at all so cannot really suggest any apps. I use Cyberduck for an FTP client. I haven't checked if it has all the features you want. The top of the line FTP client for the Mac is Transmit but it isn't free.

I think SSH is built in Mac OS X. I found this article but it dates a bit so dunno if it is still accurate or not...

And also found these suggestions. Well lookee here, Cyberduck is in that list as well!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" Apple PowerBook G4 (1.5GHz)
SSH is available from the Terminal.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro 2.26Ghz Unibody 4G RAM 160G HDD Superdrive