Nebie using paralells but considering bootcamp....

Reaction score
I switches to a mac a couple of months ago ....... and I have no desire to switch back.

BUT

I am an IT consultant and have to hook my mac up to windows network via VPN.

If I install parallells/VM ware this works - I can use the connect to my workplace wizard on the VM machine and i can access the servers etc etc

But simple things like - Adobe reader wont install as it wont see the file it wants to see and aborts. And I have to have it on the windows machine as my mac wont see the printer or connect to the network - I can only see network drives on the paralells machine.

This may be user incompetence and not knowing mac OS X properly.

I only use the paralels machine for connection to exchange server for outlook, SAP gui and VPN, and access to network drives/printing on client network.

But I have a window of 3-4 days before I give in and go boot camp as I cannot justify my billing rate in the current set up.

Are these issues surmountable without buy in from clients tech support (who hates macs).

Reaction score
You're talking about Adobe not installing on Windows, right?

If so, you've got a Windows problem, not a Parallels or OSX issue.

It would be helpful if you could give me the exact error message you see before the install aborts.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Can you be more specific on the error message you're receiving during Acrobat installation? That really does not sound like a problem related to Parallels. Remember, when you're running Windows via Parallels, as far as Windows is concerned, it is running on a PC like any other.

Neo

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
white MB 2.16GHz 3GB 320GB 10.6.1