What Should I Get?

Reaction score
Hey Everyone! Before I begin, let me say that I apoligise if this is not the right place to ask a question. Here it goes:

I am going to purchase a mac laptop soon. Hoerver, I am unfamiliar with Macs and am unsure what exactly to buy. Up until now, I have been a PC person but I have become disillusioned wit PC's and I am ready for a fresh new start with a new mac.

I am looking for Mac laptop that can fulfill the following needs:
* I need the Mac to be able to search the net very fast
* I want to be able to manage several websites that I currently have
* I am a university student so I would like to be able to write essays, research, type notes, print notes, study etc. with no problems.
* Gaming is something I will not be doing on the Mac - I have a PC desktop for that. However, I would like my Mac to be at least semi-compatible because I may want to watch a movie, use a file that requires an adequate video card etc.
* I would like to be able to create music & videos, edit music & videos, etc. with no problems (I understand that Mac is very friendly to this sort of thing)
* I would like to be able to download files (limewire, torrents etc. :p)

Basically, I would like a Mac that will let me manage my various websites, fulfill my educational obligations (studying, researching, creating databases etc.), and let me furthur my hobbies in creating music & videos while being fast, user friendly and pretty :p. This laptop would be strictly business & education oriented - no gaming (except basic stuff like poker software ;P), no massive file sharing (just a little limewire downloads from time to time).

What would be the best Mac laptop for me that fulfills my needs but also has a low price? Keep in mind, I'm a poor univ student. ;)

I was leaning toward a Macbook Pro but my friends tell me that I don't need that much. What do you guys think? Thankyou in advance for everything! :)

P.S. I live in Canada

Regards,

DaDoli

Reaction score