will a combo drive suffice?

D

daughter_anna

my first year of college starts in just a couple of weeks. (i'm so nervous but excited out of my mind at the same time) anyway, i am majoring in computer graphics and before school stars, i am planning on purchasing a new powerbook. preferrably the 15inch superdrive.

but since money is a big issue in this purchase, i was wondering if cutting down to the combodrive instead of the superdrive would be a smart choice. since i'm majoring in computer graphics, will a combodrive suffice? what are the major assetts that a superdrive possesses that a combodrive doesn't? i guess i am willing to put a little more money into getting the superdrive (but that will take me forever), but will it be worth the backlit keyboard? and if i do get the combodrive and save a little more money in the future, could i have my keyboard upgraded into a backlit?

could i buy the combodrive and save a little money and call it a smart choice? basically, i just want to hear someone say that if money is a very big issue, the combodrive is still a good choice. *sigh* decisions decisions. HELP! :(

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" Apple PowerBook G4 (1.5GHz)
The SuperDrive's sole purpose is to burn DVDs. The Combo drive reads and burns CDs, and reads DVDs; the SuperDrive adds the ability to burn DVDs. This is only important if you:
- Frequently have to move/share/back up large (up to 4GB+) files.
- Want to exchange home movies with friends/family who have DVD players
or
- Engage in DVD piracy
I personally almost never use the DVD burning capability of my SuperDrive.

The backlit keyboard cannot be added after purchase...your PowerBook either has it from the factory, or it doesn't. (Unless you don't mind drilling a few holes and putting in your own lights!)

OP
J

Joeytpg

well dude.....in MY personal case....money WAS a big issue, so i couldn't afford superdrive nor backlit, and believe me i'm VERy happy with this combo drive pbook!