Which one?

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'd having trouble deciding on a Macbook or Macbook Pro. I'm a HS student on the newspaper (photo editor), so I do a lot of work with Photoshop and Indesign (and possibly dreamweaver later).

I really want a Macbook, but can't decide between the two. The Macbook is smaller and more portable (I guess), but the max RAM is only 2GB. No matter what notebook I got, I would max out the RAM. The Pro also has a bigger screen for photo/layout editing, but when I'm home I can always hook a laptop up to my 19" LCD or 27" LCDTV....

Will 2GB of RAM/Macbook be enough to run Ps (with multiple photos open) and Id (multiple pages open) at the same time?

I'm lost!!! Help!!

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | iMac(2.1 G5) | MacBook(2.16 C2D) | MacMini (1.67 CD) | iPhone 4 | iPad (3rd Gen)
If you are expecting to do lot of work with PS and DW, I would recommend you to go for a MBP. The MB would do the job however in the long run you will feel more comfortable working on a MBP.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.0ghz 3gb Ram C2D Black Macbook
Max ram for a macbook is actually 3gb of ram. I use ps and id for school as well and find it works fine on my macbook (I hook to a monitor of intense editing). I do feel however if you have the money go pro.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black macbook 2.16ghz 2GB Ram 160GB hdd | 8Gb Ipod Nano
You can use either. a Macbook pro is generally recommended to people who do a lot of video or imaging but a macbook can do it perfectly fine.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
kooBcaM 13"
I had both, go for a refurb MBP from apple.com, same Applecare etc, just comes in an unmarked box.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro 2.26Ghz Unibody 4G RAM 160G HDD Superdrive
If you're going to be using Photoshop to make movie marquees or billboards that require huge high resolution images, then yes a Macbook Pro, or even better yet, one of those quad/8 way Mac Pros would fit the bill.