can't set up mail

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Imac 2.0GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
I am trying to set up mail accounts. I open mail as instructed, yet most of my options are grayed out. I am trying to follow gmail instructions. I am supposed to open mail, and click preferences. Preferences, however, is grayed out. I can't seem to figure out how to access. Whether I open the mail program from the dock, or from the applications section the result is the same.
Thanks for any input.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
What Mac do you own and which version of OSX are you running?

OP
V
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
oops..

brand new Imac 20" with Tiger. I am new to macs, so there is a learning curve here.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Just wanted to be sure it was not an older machine with a different version of OSX and Mail. So if you make Mail the active window and go to the tool bar and click on Mail Preferences is Grayed out? If so I have never seen that happen in my years of OSX, and on a new machine that is strange.

Below is what I get.

Picture 1.jpg

OP
V
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
not only is preferences grayed out, but most other options including help are grayed out.

Reaction score
not only is preferences grayed out, but most other options including help are grayed out.

OK, I'm trying to figure this one out ... you wrote:

I am trying to set up mail accounts.

I open mail as instructed, yet most of my options are grayed out

For someone launching Mail.app for the 1st time ever and attempting to create accounts, the second statement is normal as the program will walk you through the configuration steps and it's not until a certain point in the configuration process that the Preferences option stops being 'greyed out'.