potential switch to mac-questions

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac pro 2.66 quad, Ati x1900, 2 500GB drives, 6 mb ram, dual 24"dell monitors
Hello,
I have limited use on Mac as life long windows user, but from what I've used I like a lot.
So, I am thinking of chucking my pc for a mac pro.
Question though: I am a writer, and word is a must for me, as is a good email client. I don't think ilife and iwork will do it for me.
Can anyone tell me if they are running windows through parallels and if this works well enough. I don't want to have to reboot.
The only thing I can really see needing from windows is outlook and word.
My next question is, can any other mouse be used with mac? I absolutely hate the mighty mouse thing.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Unibody MBP 2.4 GHz C2D/27" Core i7 iMac
Hello,
I have limited use on Mac as life long windows user, but from what I've used I like a lot.
So, I am thinking of chucking my pc for a mac pro.
Question though: I am a writer, and word is a must for me, as is a good email client. I don't think ilife and iwork will do it for me.
Can anyone tell me if they are running windows through parallels and if this works well enough. I don't want to have to reboot.
The only thing I can really see needing from windows is outlook and word.
My next question is, can any other mouse be used with mac? I absolutely hate the mighty mouse thing.

Of course you can use most mice with a Mac. You are by no means limited by the Apple Mighty Mouse. There is Office 2004 for Mac http://www.apple.com/macosx/applications/office/ and in January Office 2008 will be released for Mac http://www.macoffice2008.com/ It does not use Outlook but rather Entourage. If you do not like it, there are others out there like MacMail or Thunderbird.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 inch Macbook Pro Retina, 2.7ghz, 128gb SSD
You could just buy MS Office 2004 or 2008 which is coming out soon for mac

OP
L
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs