Upgrading hard drive

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro, 8GB, 3 750GB HDs, 250GB HD, two 22" monitors, 1 iMac, 1 13" Macbook Pro, AppleTv, 2 iPhones
I'm relatively new to the Mac world; I've been a pc user since mid-eighties, but made the jump earlier this year. Overall, I am very pleased with the decision, although it has been a struggle at times ;D . As a bonus, I work at M$, which leads to many interesting conversations.

When I bought my Mac Pro, I got it with just the basic memory and storage space. This weekend, the RAM gets upgraded to 8GB and I have an eye on getting a hard drive bigger than the standard drive 250GB that came with the computer. I am learning very quickly that editing video and audio files takes up a LOT of space.

I will admit right now that I am very much a beginner when it comes to the Mac (never used one before I bought it, never really saw one up close), but would be considered an expert in the Windows world.

The question: what is the easiest way to get the data from the current drive to a bigger one? Are there utilities for the Mac world that will do this for me? I don't really want to reinstall from scratch and I don't really like to leave my computer with someone to do it for me. I know that there are Windows-based utilities that will help with this, but I don't know if those utilities will work.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Michael

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I'm relatively new to the Mac world; I've been a pc user since mid-eighties, but made the jump earlier this year. Overall, I am very pleased with the decision, although it has been a struggle at times ;D . As a bonus, I work at M$, which leads to many interesting conversations.