Educational Discount for my Brother

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, 120GB HDD
I have been using my Mac for a few months now and since that time my younger brother has been playing with it and has decided he would also like to switch.

He currently does not have the funds so he asked me to get him a 17" refurb iMac (old white design) which I did about 10 minutes ago. But after that I noticed for an extra £180 I could get him a new 20" iMac via an educational discount. This to me seems like better value.

On the Apple site it says the educational discount is for students over 18, parents and teachers. I am none of those but the machine is solely for my brother who is going to school full time (he's under 18 school). My parent won't get it for him as they don't see the difference between an Apple and a budget PC that costs £300.

Would Apple let me get the student discount for my brother? If so could I cancel my online order now and buy the other machine?

If it's useful both my brother and I both have the same place of residence.

Reaction score
So neither you or your brother qualify for the student discount, but you want apple to give him it so he can afford a new iMac instead of a refurbished one?

OP
A
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, 120GB HDD
My brother is a student, or does student mean University only students? He's a sixth former (16-18 year olds) and goes to school full time.

Reaction score
Well your best bet would be to find a friend who goes to university, ask them if they mind you ordering an apple computer in there name, if they agree ask them to phone up apple for you order what your wanting but pay with your credit/debit card and then you will get 10-15% off the price which is an awesome saving but only if you can put up with the moral dilemma of cheating the system!