• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

they want me to swith to PC from Mac...HELP!

Reaction score
hi everyone
i'm a designer (12 years experience on mainly Mac but have used PC) for a company that is now starting to make noises about swapping from Mac to PC. this has entered into their heads due to the fact that the server we use never seems adequate to accommodate our files and because all the IT boys don't understand the macs. in a nutshell, i need some solid proof (and not just my own bias opinion) on why we should stick with Macs.
the first i can think of is that all our files, fonts and software from day one is Mac so we would still need a mac to retrieve and use these files, yeah?
anything else anyone can add?... HELP!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
i need some solid proof (and not just my own bias opinion) on why we should stick with Macs.
the first i can think of is that all our files, fonts and software from day one is Mac so we would still need a mac to retrieve and use these files, yeah?
Not really. If for instance, you use Adobe software, it is cross-system compatible. It works the same way in Windows as it does on a Mac.
There is no advantage to using a Mac over a Windows system for design work.