Should I upgrade from 8.6 to X...

L

lv2dzn

Here's some background: I am a graphic designer for a local shopper. We do all of our ad layout design on mac, but occasionally we have customers send ads/art that's pc-based. I usually have to go to my pc, convert the file, then email it to my mac and rebuild/fix it. We've been having a lot of instability issues with the macs and some of our software is getting outdated.

We have Power Mac G3's. Almost all of our software is at least 4 or more years old. We want to update some of it, but I think we're going to have to update from 8.6 to OSx first.

I know almost nothing about OSx. Is it worth upgrading? Is there anything I should know about before doing it? I need some input please.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacPro 3.0Ghz 16GB RAM, 4x256 Vid, 30''cinema display
Well, OSX is by far more stable, though, it may be a tad slow on those G3s, depending on how many mhz (I know G3 333mhz isn't incredibly fast/slow but it works and thats all ive ever tried for the g3s)
There may also be design convertions that the newer OSX programs can do with out a pc first. I don't suggest OS9 though it is better over all, the software rendered graphics of OS9 i believe were purposely lowered to make OSX look better. OSX is just as easy to learn and easy to use as OS8.. what kind of software do you use?

OP
L

lv2dzn

Our main applications are: photoshop 5.0, illustrator 8.0, suitcase 8, quark 4.11 and cls 3.0.3.

I would love to be able to do cross-platform work with my pc more easily.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacPro 3.0Ghz 16GB RAM, 4x256 Vid, 30''cinema display
Well, VPC 6 is pretty nice, PhotoShop 7 is amazing, illustrator 10 not much different, quark5? hvnt used it, cls hvnt used it either.

If you upgrade to OSX i recommend upgrading all your software, and your computers... power vs cost and profit vs improved quality

OP
A

artie

lv2dzn said: