• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Non-Compete Agreement

JRV

Reaction score
I work as a web designer for a technology company. The company covers a wide range of tech from installing networks to designing websites. I had to sign a Non-Compete Agreement before they would hire me. The agreement says I can't work for any company that would be considered a competitor for up to 2 years.

If I ever leave does that mean that I wouldn't be able to freelance or work as a web designer for 2 years? I know what a Non-Compete Agreement is but unsure of what would be considered a competitor.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
2 years is a pretty harsh agreement. Could you perhaps scan the clause so that we can get a look at the exact wording, as that would help us figure out what exactly your employer meant.

OP
JRV

JRV

Reaction score
2 years is a pretty harsh agreement. Could you perhaps scan the clause so that we can get a look at the exact wording, as that would help us figure out what exactly your employer meant.

I think I have a copy in my files somewhere, I'll look for it. It was just a brief paragraph in the Agreement I signed. It was pretty vague from what I remember.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 Cube