Getting a MacBook

Reaction score
am gonna get the base model; couple of questions though

1. is 1gb ram good enough for now or should i upgrade to the 2gb and if i choose to upgrade later should i replace the the two 512mb with two 1gb or just swap one of the 512 for a gig

2. how much hard drive should i get, i was thinking 80gb and then buying a western digital external 120gb for cheap on ebay

3. being almost sept, leopard is coming out in OCT, should i wait till they ship them with leopard or wait till they get the kinks out and buy leopard at a later date

4. being a college student, i can get the free nano, should i get it? If i get it, i could sell it and use that money for leopard but if i dont have to put the money on my card, i dont want to

thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15 inch Macbook Pro 2 GHz Core Duo 2 GB of Ram: 20 inch iMac 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo 3 GB Ram
am gonna get the base model; couple of questions though

1. is 1gb ram good enough for now or should i upgrade to the 2gb and if i choose to upgrade later should i replace the the two 512mb with two 1gb or just swap one of the 512 for a gig

2. how much hard drive should i get, i was thinking 80gb and then buying a western digital external 120gb for cheap on ebay

3. being almost sept, leopard is coming out in OCT, should i wait till they ship them with leopard or wait till they get the kinks out and buy leopard at a later date

4. being a college student, i can get the free nano, should i get it? If i get it, i could sell it and use that money for leopard but if i dont have to put the money on my card, i dont want to

thanks

1. Upgrade later, its much cheaper, and get 2 1gb..i reccomend crucial
2. HD space is all up to you. If you feel that using an external is no proble m then go for it. Me personally I would rather have the most HD space in my laptop as possible. This is assuming oyu travel wit your laptop like me.