Make me a believer - macbook or pro?

Reaction score
Ok, I have never used a mac in my life, so why would I want to switch now? I need a notebook, period - I feel I could be so much more productive laying down in bed reading then tired up at the computer. I am a web designer so a very large portion of my time is devoted to constantly being up to speed on the latest trends, innovations, techniques etc. For whatever reason out of no where I was bit by the mac bug, I just decided one day that I wanted one, for no reason at all, then I did the research and found that my newly found obsession was justified by the great features. I spend a good amount of time trouble shooting why my comp has slowed down, making sure I do routine virus and spyware scans, registry scans etc, pita.

So anyway I have been doing a great deal of research lately on what I should get, whereas I could get a dell for about 6-1000 cheaper and it would be comparable it probably would run like crap after 6 months and just be another junk hardware device that I got.

I am torn between the macbook and the pro. I don't travel alot so I don't do alot of work on the road but I do need it to be able to power photoshop pretty well if I do need it. I usually have about 50 firefox windows open so hopefully even with the 2gb version it won't slow me down too much.

So what are your suggestions for what I should get? If i go pro and spend nearly 2500 will I notice a performance increase going with the 2.4 instead of the 2.2? And if i go with the macbook can it be upgraded to hold 4gb or only 2 and what about the processor will it be SIGNIFICANTLY noticeable going form the macbook to the pro with the santa rosa processor? Such as when running apps like dreamweaver or photoshop.

In closing would it be wise for me to wait more for the holidays in hopes of an upgraded version of the pro or would that just be silly.

Thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs