My experiences of Mac & OSX

Reaction score
Just a few paragraphs on my experiences of using my first mac. Might be useful for switchers, twitchers, undecided's and OMGIMTOOSCARED....This is personal experience and personal opinion and in no way intended as flamebait or anything else. :D

I used Macs years ago in a work setting, upto the release of OS9. I have to say I wasn't impressed with it. Old Mac OS's were hideousy overpriced for their specs, crashed as much as Windows, were slow and sluggish. The office switched to linux and we ditched our remaining Windows PC's and most of our Apple machines (kept one or two on for Photoshop work and Quark).

I've been using Linux at home for 5 years now, and my main box still runs linux. That won't ever change. As someone coming from a linux environment, I was intrigued to see how a proprietary BSD based OS would match up. I have to say OS X matches up very well. More on this later.

So, if I'm happy with linux, why did I buy a Mac?

Well, I needed a high end laptop for work purposes. I needed something small, portable and powerful. I spec'd out the usual assortment of laptops at PC world and wasn't impressed. Most were too chunky, clunky and plain ugly. Most were too big and heavy. Then a freelance dev doing some work for us in the office turned up with his 13" 2.16ghz MacBook. I had a little play, my first time on a Mac since OS9 and was very impressed. I spec'd out the prices and found that, amazingly, Apple were competitive hardware wise on price.

So I bought a 13" 2.16ghz macbook for £800. I love it.

So, whats it like coming from an windows environment?