Music folder/iTunes help please!

Reaction score
Okay, not sure if I can post this here, but I'm a newbie with Macs, so here is my problem:

I transferred music to my Mac, put it in the Music folder. I've been playing songs through iTunes and everything has been working fine up until tonight. I added some new songs to my Music folder, and all of a sudden some of the songs were moving around to other folders, or maybe duplicating. Duplicates of songs were showing up in my iTunes and no matter how many times I tried to delete them they kept coming back. I also tried deleting them directly from the Music folder and they keep coming back. Then I went to delete my entire iTunes Library and everything was moved to the trash. When I went to put everything back into the Music folder, only half of my songs showed up, and now the other half are missing!

This is really frustrating. I'm just trying to find a way to rename folders and songs, both in my Music folder and in my iTunes, without things switching around on me. Is there some synching problem between the two? I am lost. Help anyone??

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" Apple PowerBook G4 (1.5GHz)
To re-import your missing music, choose File > Add to Library... and select whatever folder(s) contains your missing music.

Once you've done that, open iTunes Preferences, click the Advanced icon, then click on the General tab. Think very hard about the "Keep iTunes Music Folder organized" and "Copy files to iTunes Music folder when importing" options. In any event, remember your selections and be aware of them in the future.