MacBook specs

Reaction score
Hey,
I posted here earlier about the specs of a mac for gaming. Well I'm getting an Xbox360 for gaming so I don't need to bother about that now. Although being a student, I've run out of money. My question now is: can the 13" MacBook run Photoshop, After Effects etc. well? And also, will I be able to play World of Warcraft? I can't really afford the MacBook Pro :(

Thanks in advance.

P.S. I currently use xFire with a bunch of mates. Is there an equivilant that runs on both PC AND Mac?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac Core 2 Duo 2.16Ghz, 500GB HDD, 1GB RAM, 128MB ATI Radeon X1600
I think the MacBook can handle that. Also, yeah, good idea getting a 360, Macs aren't exactly renowned for gaming.

World of Warcraft will be fine.

As for xFire, there's an Adium plugin called Xblaze.

OP
S
Reaction score
Thanks indeed, Youtube, I never though about looking there. Looks pretty decent. Can I just ask, would I be better getting a MacBook for portability, or an iMac and just leaving it at home. I like the idea of having a laptop for college but would it be better in the long term getting an iMac with extra RAM and whatever video card it has. Thanks again.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac
The iMacs offer larger screens, bigger hard drives, dedicated graphics card, and optional wireless kb and mouse.

The Macbooks offer great portability, can do what you've posted you want to do, and depending on configurations, could cost you less.

If you want to save a few more bucks, try a refurbished model from Apple.

But ulitmatley, if you want/need portability go with a Macbook.
If you don't want/need portability go with an iMac.

You really can't go wrong with either one, based on what you've posted in this thread so far.

If all else fails, go to an Apple store and talk to a rep.

Good Luck! :)

Reaction score