Possibly buying a MBP soon

Reaction score
Hello.:)

I am new to the Mac world. Actually, no, I am not new to it because I haven't even entered it yet, but I am standing outside of it with great anticipation.:D

I have been a pc user all of my life, and i have used my computers primarily for gaming. These days, my gaming time has been cut significantly, and i really just don't feel the need or want to get back into it. Plus, building $3,000 computers every year to play video games gets a bit exhausting.

Now, money isn't an issue. I have been saving for a good while, so I want the latest and greatest. My heart is set on a MBP, but i do have a few questions.

I do a lot of photography, amateur music production and things with astronomy. I am mainly concerned with how it will handle big, greedy music production applications. How does it handle these types of applications?

I have been told that I need to get the Apple care without hesitation. What are your thoughts on this? I have never had the need for extra warranty coverage, but I am kind of considering it this time around.

Do many of you have the higher resolution screen on the 17-incher? If so, how do you like it?

I have heard about some reliability issues, but those just come with things made by people. So, I'm not really concerned with that. I am concerned with some things I have read and experienced regarding the speed of these dudes.

I played around with 2 different 17-inch MBP's. one of them was blazing fast, and the other was laggy as all get out. They both had the same specs and has the same applications loaded on them. Now, I am not very familiar with the ins and outs of OSX, so I understand that there could have been a lot going on in the background on the slower machine, but I'm not sure how Macs work in that respect. Are there a ton of services that load and run in the background like Windows?