I want to dump all the garbage

Reaction score
Hi I am quite new to macs and have a iBook G4 that runs 10.3.9. It used to be my Dad's and has all of his previous settings and programs. I would like to just dump all of his previous settings and programs that he used to use. Basically bring the system back to new. Any idea on how to do this?

Thanks in advance for your help, Jason

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
Yes, boot the machine from the discs that came with it and do a clean install of the OS.

OP
M
Reaction score
What if I don't have the disks? I got this computer from my father and he no longer has the disks. Are there any other options?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17 inch 2 GHz C2D imac (5,1) with 3GB DDR2 RAM, X1600 (128MB memory) GPU - OSX 10.6.3
You can always buy another system from Apple. A generic one and use that. Or wait till 10.5 comes round and use that for your mac and the old G4.

Option 2: You can do this. Use AppZapper to delete every non apple app on the system. And then boot up the machine in root user and delete every user account and make a new admin one. Then boot back in the new admin account you created and that should back close to a clean install. Also hitting the mac with Onyx and performing all of it's maintaince and repairing functions will help too.

OP
M
Reaction score
Well I really screwed things up now. I found and now have used the system disks to startup the computer. I was then told by someone to go into the disk utility and erase the hard drive. I did that but now the computer has no where to startup from now. It will only startup from the installer disc.

When I try to re-install Mac OS X it says that it can't because an earlier version is not found. I am so confused and frustrated now. My mac is completely useless now. HELP! Does anyone know where I can go to or who I can talk to get this thing resolved? Thanks so much.

J

jamesx