Thinking Of Getting Into Digital Photography

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.06 iMac i3|12GB|500GB
I've always loved photography. I used to have a digital camera, a 5.5 mp Minolta (I had it about 3 years ago when that was alot better lol) but when my car was stolen my camera went with it.

If I do get back into it, I need to be slightly economical. I'm a fulltime student, and really just want to take some good pictures with a decent camera.

Does anyone have any affordable suggestions? I've been looking at these Konica-Minoltas.

Right now my only camera is my 35mm SLR Nikkormat <33

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
PowerMac G5 2.3 ghz 6.5 GB ram 20" cinema display ..15" Macbook Pro 2.33 Core 2 Duo 2 Gig RAM
Your nikon lenses would work on a DSLR. Nikon makes several cheaper models.

Reaction score
Richmond, VA, a native of Chapel Hill, N.C.
Your Mac's Specs
17' iMac Core 2 Duo 2.16 1g ram | iPod Photo 60gb | 2G Shuffle
The Nikon N40 is a great entry-level DSLR, and if you have nikon lenses, they'll work just fine.

If you're not looking to make that jump, i'd recommend picking up a used Sony F717 or F828. This is the second time today i've talked these cameras up to someone on this board, and i swear i'm not a sony rep. They're just fantastic cameras, usable, they've got carl zeiss glass, great shots, nightvision, and the later models can make toast (requires firmware upgrade). Neither of them shoot .raw, though, so if that's your prerogative, you'll have to look elsewhere. The F717 can be had used for about $300 or less, the F828 is around $500 used.

The best place to look for camera reviews, impo, is dpreview.com. the reviews are intensely in-depth, with every possible aspect of the geat in question being fully reviewed.

Reaction score
The Nikon N40 is a great entry-level DSLR, and if you have nikon lenses, they'll work just fine.

This model only uses AF-S lenses - so older lenses with no internal focusing motor will not work on this camera.