Fink? X11? ???

W

WhitE_RabbiT

Ok guys, I'm new to this. I am starting to learn the terminal. I know a few basic commands. I have played around with various distrus of Linux before, and I know what x11 window system is. At least, I understand the purpose of its existance on Linux.

Here is the thing. I'm interested in playing with all of this stuff on my new PB, but I am slightly confused as to what is what, and what does what. I was originally under the impression that this "Fink" was x11 apps remade to run on my Mac. Before I had heard of "Fink," I believed I could run any x11 app with the x11 available from Apple. Now that I have just downloaded, installed, and started playing with Fink, it appears that they are not even related. I'm slightly confused.

Hopefully you guys can give me some insight as to what is really what, and the purpose it serves. Maybe help me make some connections. Any explinations would be great really. Thanks guys.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
Open Terminal and type man - the command you want to see instructions for - and enjoy the Unix Zone!

OP
W

WhitE_RabbiT

yes, i know about man....but im still a little confused about the whole x11 release from apple.....as well as fink. I'm assuming fink is just a way of importing programs that have been remade to run on the darwin kernel.

Reaction score
You're right, Fink installs apps, librarys, and other stuff for X11, Apple's or Xfree86. It puts the stuff in a seperate dir so as not to mess up the system structure. Have you tried FinkCommander? Easier to use than dselect.

What exactly are you having problems with?

OP
W

WhitE_RabbiT

ok, well....in that case. i guess my question is, how do I go about running the programs/packages I get with fink. i can open them in my regular terminal for the most part, but when i open x11, and run xterm, i cannot run the fink programs.

Reaction score
Ok, you need to do this:
Put this in .bashrc (should already be there)