Advice for composition:

Reaction score
Hi,

I've decided to get a mac but I'm not entirely sure on what I'll need to run Logic Express (maybe pro) for audio manipulation and sampler instruments. I'm a Music Technology student at Lancaster University, England. I'm really asking for advice on whether to get a Mac Pro or whether I can go to the lower end of the Mac list without compromising the performance of Logic.

I was going to go for something like this:

* Two 3.0GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon
* 2GB (4 x 512MB)
* NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB (single-link DVI/dual-link DVI)
* 250GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
* One 16x SuperDrive
* Apple Keyboard & Mighty Mouse - British
* Mac OS X (English)

* Five USB ports
* Two FireWire 400 ports
* Two FireWire 800 ports

But I'm wondering whether I'd really notice the difference between that and an iMac with this spec:

* 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
* 2GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM - 2x1GB
* NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GT 256MB SDRAM
* 250GB Serial ATA drive
* Keyboard (English) & Mighty Mouse + Mac OS X (English)

* 24-inch TFT display
* 8x double-layer SuperDrive (DVD±RW, CD-RW)
* AirPort Extreme
* Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR

I read that the Mac Pro is more for video editing which I'm imagining takes uses up more resources so I'd be concerned that I'd be buying something that is vastly over powered for what I want to do. But on the flip side, I don't want to be limited.

So the main use would be Logic Express 7/Pro, some home video editting, Max MSP and that's about it.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
1.83 Ghz 17" iMac Core 2 Duo, 13" Macbook 2.16 Ghz, 17" Macbook Pro 2.66 GHZ