hardware advice..?

Reaction score
When I eventually get to make my first Mac purchase - I would like some help in deciding which one to go for...

It comes down to the MB, MBP or iMac.

I am a complete Mac beginner - and have no intentions of buying a Windoh's pc ever again.

Money is not really too much of an issue (although I am in the UK - and we seem to have to pay way more for software & hardware!!).

Once familiar with my new machine - I would probably start dabbling with video editing / web design.

Portability would be nice - but not essential, and I currently do not have a suitable display. So would be purchasing everything in a one'r.

I am leaning towards a 24" imac with 2G RAM + 500gig HDD... or is the MBP so awesome it has to be that??

thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sooper Fast!
Don't buy a macbook. Not unless you have a very large screen to connect it too. People buy these things with the intention to do video and photo editing. It really sucks trying to do any editing at those resolutions. Even photo editing on the 15" MBP is mediocre with the screen size and resolution. That's why most people that do editing where screen size is crucial, go with desktops or monitors that can support the resolutions needed for it.

Sounds like the imac is going to be your best bet unless your intent is to get the MBP and a monitor and an external HDD if you fill up the one in the MBP.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20' iMac and 15' Macbook Pro 2.33GHz/2GB Ram/Superdrive/256MB ATI X1600
I can tell you if money is not an option then do 2 computers. Get an iMac for home and spend some extra cash and get a macbook pro for when you need to go portable. That's what I did and I couldn't be happier! MACS ARE GREAT!!!

Reaction score