Where to buy + Student discount

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black macbook 2.16ghz 2GB Ram 160GB hdd | 8Gb Ipod Nano
Where is the best place to buy a macBook? Im guessing online on the apple uk store as there is no apple store anywhere near to where i live.

Also, i am a student. What evidance of being a student do you need to get a discount, how much do i get off and how to i go about actually getting this discount?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook - Mid 2007
Nus

Also, i am a student. What evidance of being a student do you need to get a discount, how much do i get off and how to i go about actually getting this discount?

I think on the Apple site you can use your NUS number; I guess they would accept an NUS/college I.D. card in stores. If you don't have an NUS card/number yet, you will most likely have the opportunity to get one when you enter sixth-form/college (as in the English 'college', as in A-levels, BTECs, etc). On the right hand link list there's a link, 'Savings for students, faculty and staff'. Use this for your online discount. I'm not sure how much the discount was, I went to college 2004-07 and I still haven't got my MacBook!

OP
T
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black macbook 2.16ghz 2GB Ram 160GB hdd | 8Gb Ipod Nano
i have an NUS card from last year, but i never renewed it for this year. will i be able to use my old card?

Reaction score
i have an NUS card from last year, but i never renewed it for this year. will i be able to use my old card?

If you can, use a computer at your University to order on the online store. Using a machine with a Univeristy IP address you'll be entitled to the HE discount which is more than the standard educational discount. Something like about 15% vs. the 8 or 9% that the standard EDU discount is I believe.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook - Mid 2007

I would hazard a guess at 'yes', but I'm really not sure. Also, notlocust has a good point ^.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs