Mac Security

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black macbook 2.16ghz 2GB Ram 160GB hdd | 8Gb Ipod Nano
I hear a lot of people say that there is no Viruses, spyware or hacker threats for the Macs.

I am a computer systems security student and i know for a fact that there is no system out there that is 100% secure. There must be exploit code and viruses out there that will affect a mac.

Why does everyone say its completely secure?
Can anyone recommend a firewall and antivirus?

Reaction score
There are no viruses because they can't gain entry without the Mac user's co-operation. If a user co-operates and loads it, it can't jump to another computer without that user's co-operation.

The only viruses that exist are lab-created proof-of-concepts, and at last count, those totalled two (though, really, they are worms). There is no registry to allow an executable admittance without the user's knowledge.

The Mac has a built-in firewall, and if that and it's so-called Advance options are turned on, the thing's invisible on the net if no router allows any ports to be open. With the firewall and its options on, run Sygate's security scan.

Apple quickly updates any security holes. A few weeks ago a security hole revealed at a hackers' conference (the Mac was hacked only when it's defences were purposely crippled) was patched only three days later.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" Apple PowerBook G4 (1.5GHz)
Yes, exploit code is very easy to find. You can, if you have a masochistic bent, download it to your Mac and compromise it.

But that's the only way your Mac will be compromised. Unlike Windows, there is no "critical mass" of zombie machines on the internet spreading worms. There are no mass-emailed viruses in the wild. It's like a very safe, low-crime neighbourhood: not immune, but might as well be.

See the prominent Anti-Virus and Security sticky for the answer to your questions.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs