photo software for beginner

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook C2D 2.0ghz, 2GB ram, 80 Gig HD
im new to macs, and never really done any photo editing before, however i plan on getitng a new camera, and i would also like to clean up and sharpen some old pics.
which is a good easy to use software that i can use to clean up images, altering things such as flash reflection things like that.

is photoshop going to be too much for me or is it easy to use?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.16 GHz Intel Imac Core 2 Duo//MacBook 1.83 Core 2 Duo//G5 Power Mac
is photoshop going to be too much for me or is it easy to use?

I think that the answer to that question is entirely up to you :) Photoshop is the Queen of this type of software however, and there will be much to learn as well some feel that the price of Photoshop is high.

I have never used it but the Gimp is supposed to do a similar job to Photoshop and is free.

M

MacHeadCase

You could check out Photoshop Elements as well.

It isn't free but it will do most of what you need: taking red eye out, sharpening, adding lightness, contrast or taking some of it out, etc.

Reaction score
Hey crunch... I'm a big fan of Photoshop Elements. From what you've said, I think Photoshop Elements will do you fine (and more). There are a lot of resources out there as well. I subscribe to Elements and it's got a ton of video tutorials as well. Like MHC said, it's not free but for the price it's very reasonable and will do most anything you probably need.

Hope this helps.

Scott

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
Good advice on Photoshop Elements, but I'd just like to add that it is due for an update to version 5, which presumably will be a universal binary (meaning that it will natively on Intel hardware). Since Photoshop 3 just came out as a UB, I don't think it will be too much longer until Elements 5.0 surfaces.