installation

Reaction score
hi
im new in mac (just got a macbook) and i tryed to install messenger so i downloaded the installation file from www.msn.com but when it were downloaded i clicked it and it asked me what program i wanted to use the file with (like windows does when it doesnt know what it is) so i couldn't install messenger...
moving on... i then tryed installing diablo 2 (lovely game:D) and then it said that this version of mac didn't supported it:( and i got my mac 2 days earlier
(for those who doesn't know on the cover of diable 2 theres written "mac" next to the "pc" indicating that it should work with mac...
moving on... i also tryed to put a cd in where there should be some usefull programs on it (antivirus and other software) and it said the same thing as with the messenger...

is it just my mac theres the problem or have you tryed it too? if you have plz help me through this im thinking on installing windows to help but it also says the same thing as with messenger when i placed the cd in the mac...
:(:(:(:( plz help me

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP - 2.66Ghz Core 2 duo, 4GB Ram, 320GB HDD, Geforce 9400m + 9600M GT (256mb)
Hey there pelvark welcome to mac-forums!

Diablo wont work on the new Intel macs using the CDs. I think someone may have made a patch but im not sure.

As for the other programs. Just making sure, are you downloading the Mac OSX version or are you downloading .exe files that windows uses?

OSX doesnt support .exe, and so It wont know what to do with them when you try and run them.

~~ TS ~~

OP
P
Reaction score
ok i did not know that but where do i find the mac version because theres no link for downloading them

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Well to be honest with you antivirus isnt needed on mac at the moment so i wouldnt worry.

Other software? Give us an idea of what your looking for and im sure we can help you.

For instance look at Neo-office for all your office needs.

Adium is a good msn client for mac