Just Ordered my Nikon D40x

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Core 2 Duo 1GB RAM
I'm new to the SLR camera world... Anything advice you guys could give me?

Reaction score
Buy the best and most appropriate lens you can afford, not necessarily the most expensive.

Take lots of photos.

Have fun.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 2.93C2D 4GB
I have the D80 and it makes me very happy. I find it really intuitive and it fits in well with how I like to take photos. I've heard good things about the D40 (and the x version just adds megapixels) so I'm sure you'll be very happy too.

As for advice...if you're new to SLR's try to make use of the Manual setting and learn how to use it "properly" so to speak. You can learn so much with this camera but you could also let it do so much for you that you miss out on the learning experience - Without the knowledge, skill and eye for detail you're just another guy with a camera:black:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
ibook g4, imac 2ghz c2d, mbp 2.4ghz c2d - 10.5.1

i would say

take as many pictures as you can - 1000's.

experience is the key, also learn your camera. - although i havnt really.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black MacBook 2GB, Mac Pro 2.66Ghz 3GB X1900.

Start saving up for lenses, you will only get stunning results using good glass and good technique. You will get obsessed, so be careful :)

For the maximum sharpness, always use a tripod, use an electronic remote (or timer) to stop camera shake, use the best aperture of the lens (usually two stops down from wide open).

Learn about the effect on depth of field that aperture has. Wide open shots can be good for isolating a part of a scene. Stopped down shots are great for when you want as much of a scene visible as possible.

Avoid flash as much as possible for natural results.

Take landscape photos just after sunrise and just before sunset. The light is better, there are interesting shadows.