Timing the Switch?

Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a soon-to-be college freshman looking to switch to a Mac before college. I'm currently using a very nice Alienware laptop, but the simple truth is that it doesn't suit my impending needs as a college student. The primary problems are battery life and portability. It lasts only about half an hour and it's a real clunker.

I'm looking at the 17" Mac Book Pro, and I'm going to sell my current computer beforehand. My question is this: are there any big updates coming in the next four months, such that I ought to wait for them before switching? It's not that I'm in a big rush to make the switch, but I know that the sooner I sell my current system, the more I will get for it.

Thanks a lot,
Mike

PS - A question about RAM in the MB Pro: I see that it costs a whopping $575 to upgrade from 2GB to 3GB. What are the chances of buying it with 2GB and swapping out one of the 1GB modules for a 2GB (that I would buy from someplace else, like NewEgg), and then selling the spare 1GB module? Would I save anything?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Unibody MBP 2.4 Ghz C2D, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB HDD, 320 GB Time Machine HDD, 1 TB Ext Media Drive
Mike:

Welcome. First off, congrats on your impending purchase of what we around here call the MBP (MacBook Pro). I myself am a college student, and I use the 15" iteration (see sig. for full specs).

Your timing with a Mac is not going to matter much with the current information we have on our next OS release (OS X 10.5 Leopard). It was initially announced with a Spring '07 release, but it's been officially pushed back to October. This would make waiting for inclusion of the new OS not much of a possibility for you, seeing as I assume you'll need it for the start of fall term. That being said, I would try to get your Alienware on eBay (or your choice of selling venue) ASAP. I ended up getting about 66% of what I paid for mine on eBay before switching to the Mac world.