PowerMac OS8 printer setup - how?

Reaction score
I'm new to Macs and the operating systems thereof. An old PowerMac 7100 was working with an Epson Color 1520, driven from one of the two serial ports to the serial port on the printer. Failed to see printer one morning. Suspected power surge may have taken out serial port. Installed good motherboard, but still won't print. Tried a second Epson which had worked okay before; no luck. Now think am down to a bad cable (but no reason to suspect it); or a bad configuration (e.g., inexperienced operator). I also installed a new OS-8 on a second HD, accepting the defaults in ignorance, but it won't print either!
- What extensions must be active to make it go? I have Epson drivers for OS7.5, as well as a system CD for OS7.5, and one for OS8.0. I pretty well know my way around PCs but not Macs.

Thanks for any help,
Mac Harper

Reaction score
Extensions would include the printer driver and maybe some shared "libraries" that also are extensions, nothing like the libraries in OS X.

Turn on all the extensions so all doubt one is missing is removed. I can't recall whether 7.5 has an Extension Manager. I think 8 does. But if not, go into the System Folder and drag all the extensions from the Extensions (Disabled) folder to the Extensions folder, then restart the machine. It would be worth it to make sure nothing is left in the Extensions (Disabled) folder in any case.

Any extension change means the machine won't recognize the difference unless it's restarted.

Make sure the Chooser is in the Apple Menu Items folder. It's home really isn't critical, but its pathway might be screwed up.

After you click on the Chooser and the window opens, wait at least 10 seconds or you notice that its icon at the right on the menu bar across the top is blinking. If it is, previous printing jobs are stuffing up the queue and nothing can get through.