• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Using unsecured networks? Moral?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook 2.0 c2d 2gb 80gb SD Mac Mini c2d 1.83
I am pretty new to being mobile with my computer and was just wondering what your stand is on using unsecured home networks when you are on the road.

I have a wireless lan at home but it is secured, many wifi-routers come unsecured out of the box (ease of installation I guess). Many people who are not so tech-minded seem to think "hey it works" and forget the rest of the setup.

Do you take advantage of this?

Can it sometimes be hard to tell the difference between a genuine free network (like in hotels, cafes etc) and someone who just did not set it up correctly?

What´s your take?

/Stefan

OP
DistantHoller
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
I saw that before.. but I was thinking it might be a little different. That guy is/was using it 100% of the time.

Another post mentioned one person, while sitting waiting for his doctor, picked up an unsecured network and started video chatting with his wife.