Launching DVD on startup

Reaction score
As a newbie I'm having difficulties installing a new op system on my G4 400MHZ. My new op system is OSX 10.4 and is on a DVD. I hold down the 'c' button and I used to get a flashing "?" but this has stopped happening. I have also tried holding down the 'option' key - and it only shows the HDD and an arrow. I currently have OS 9.2 on the mac.

Is there a way of accessing the motherboard to see that the computer has DVD has first priority boot, as in windows? Any help would be geat as I am tearing my hair out. I am sure the operating system on my DVD is not corrupt.
Thanks!

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
Is the Optical drive in that G4 400 for sure a DVD ROM? If so maybe the drive has issues reading DVD's.

OP
L
Reaction score
Yep. It's a DVD rom okay. I used another DVD ROm (from a PC - I think PC DVD roms are compatible????) and still no response form the DVD...I am confused!

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
You can try resetting the PRAM. Not sure if it will help but seen it solve that problem a time or two. Hold down Apple-Option-P-R all at the same time when you hear the chime. Keep it all down till you hear 2 more chimes then let go. See if it then works.

Is the Tiger DVD a factory?

OP
L
Reaction score
I tried resetting PRAM, but may not have done it properly. As for the DVD, I got it from a friend. Does not look like an original though but the contents look correct. Other thing is I had some extra ram I threw in - someone said that can screw it all up - so I have now taken out the extra ram and have just the ram that came with it...thing is - when I first put another DVD in it I was able to get the "?" at startup and now its gone!