Photographers Rights

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Powerbook G4 15' - Ultimate Drive- 100GB hard drive
Hello, my name is Pete and I'm a 2nd year Student at the University of Guelph Humber studying Media Studies and specializing in Creative photography. (www.guelphhumber.ca) I'm writing a paper for my Subcultures Class and figured i would tap into the large sample of photographers that I have access to as being a member of this site.

My question to you is this:

It is perfectly legal to go to a park and take pictures of everyone in that public space, even children without their parents permission. It is a public space and therefore they should not have an expectation of privacy. But in today's society even knowing that I am allowed by the law to do so I still feel that when I enter a public space with a camera that I'm not wanted there. Just because I am a young man with a camera I feel as though i am labeled as a sexual preditor. I feel very uncomfortable shooting in an area where children are around. I was talking with one of my photography teachers at my university and he said that he used to go to parks and with the parents permission take photo's of children playing. Now he advoids doing so because he feels very uncomfortable with a camera in a public park with children around.

What are your thoughts on Shooting in a public place where children are present. Have you ever felt awkward having a camera in this public place? Felt like people didn't want you there?

Also have you ever had any problem in any public space? Ever been asked to turn over your images? (which you never have to do unless they have a court order, also you never have provide ID unless a policce officer asks for it, mall security gaurds don't count)

your comments won't be used in the paper, but rather give me an idea of the opinions of the photographic community

I apprecaite any input.

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Lime Green iMac G3 64mb ram, 20gb hdd, 400mhz G3 processor