What to do?

Reaction score
I have been a Windows user for over 10 years now. Now with Vista coming out, I am going to have to upgrade my computer a little. I have never used a Mac before and am wondering when a new OS for Mac comes out, do Macs have to be upgraded? Are Macs hard to upgrade (finding the parts, getting the parts to work)? Can a Mac run an AMD chip? How good are Macs at running Windows apps? I am thinking, maybe now is a good time to switch to a Mac. Can someone give me just a little help?
Thank you in advance.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15in i7 MacBook Pro, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, 500GB HD
No, Macs don't have to be updated. Older Macs run the most recent versions of OS X fine, just a little slower than the current models. Most Macs, the only things you can upgrade are the RAM and HD. No, Macs only use Intel chips. Most Macs can run windows apps fine, but you have to have a full version of Windows to use with Boot Camp or Parallels.

Reaction score
G'day Xiren & welcome to Mac-Forums.

You seem to have a big decision ahead of you .... but an exciting one nonetheless!

It's a really exciting time historically to become interested in Apple products on a whole with the current Mac range being premium personal computers and the release of Leopard OS just around the corner.

I would personally start at HomeBase .... the Apple website, and just browse there for a while. Click on the Store tab and have a look at what Macs are out there and the specifications available.

Nowadays, Macs are built around the Intel Chip so the AMD chip is out of the picture but that's not a death knell - quite the opposite!

Here's the Apple link and have fun!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
Welcome Xiren!!

Now *could* be a good time to switch, but it could also be a good time to just stand pat for a while.