New Mac user

Reaction score
Hi all. Not REALLY a switcher, more of a "adding another OS to the stable" user. ;)

I'm a software engineer by day and a budding author by night. (IE I get paid for one, not yet for the other.) I run both Linux and Windows at home and work. However I've been looking for a small light laptop for my writing and really liked software I found for OS X.

I stopped by the Mac store this weekend and played around with a MacBook a bit. Very slick window manager. I hit CTRL+E by mistake (habit) and was stunned when the Mac jumped my cursor to the end of the line. Tried a few other of my favorite Linux keyboard shortcuts. All worked. Started to feel very much at home.

Since I've been itching to play around with a new OS anyway....

The new laptop is a Mac. MacBook on order and I can't wait to start playing around with it. Now to read through all the case threads and find a good one for it. :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
Congrats on your purchase!! You'll fall in love with your Macbook within a matter of minutes. :black:

There is a ton of information for new Mac users. I suggest checking out the various pinned threads. The one I found most useful when I first bought my Macbook was the Switcher's Guide to OS X software

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Studio, M1 Max, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD
Hi tandaina, welcome! I am sure you will enjoy your MacBook.

As a Linux user, you may wish to check out my Linux to Mac Switcher's guide. It is a switcher's guide written from a Linux perspective, containing lots of Linux friendly information plus lots of generally useful stuff like how to maintain your Mac, a list of critical apps you will want to get quickly and the like.

Check out http://www.campbell-tx.net/MacOSX/Linux2Mac/linux2mac.html

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Macbook Pro 2.26Ghz Unibody 4G RAM 160G HDD Superdrive