just switched

S

sirlan

I'm still in a little shock. I've been working in IT and related fields for over 10 years and have never used a mac. I've been fighting a losing battle with viruses on my laptop for the past 2 weeks and finally lost that battle Saturday (even while running updated virus software every day). That, and other issues with the MS Reboot OS's, helped me develop a new-found hatred for PC's. So, I went out and bought a 1GHz iBook G4 Sunday. I have to say I'm extremely impressed. Everything worked. No lengthy set-up. No installing drivers. Nothing. Just plug things in and they work. Plug in my digital camera, everything works. Plug in my ethernet connection (through a router), instant internet access. That's -- well -- amazing. Add in some very cool features that MS doesn't have and I think I'm hooked.
I used to call them "Macintrash" computers. Now, I realize how truly ignorant I was. It's actually nice not having to reboot every time I sneeze. Apple did a good job.

OP
S

StarManta

Yeah, now comes the hard part.... convincing your friends that they're good computers....

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
G4 1Ghz OS X 10.4.7
Happy to see you join! In case you want to know, here is the recommended maintenence:
After every software update, and about every 2 weeks: close all apps and log totally off. Log on, go in Finder, Applications. Utilities, Disk Utility. After the message -getting disk information- select volume (below the hard drive name -upper left corner. Just highlight it. Now look to the lower two things are there near the middle, varify permissions, repair permissions. Click repair permissions. Also make sure you run cron tasks Finder, Applications. Utilities Terminal type (switching to root - superuser) sudo sh /etc/daily > this needs to be done /weekly (instead of dailly) and monthly. again with all apps closed.
:)

OP
T

trenollet