newbie trying to design website

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20 inch intel imac
ok guys...this forum seems like a great place for me to start learning and i'm hoping you guys can get me started.

basically, my father and brother have a family business in which they are home developers/general contractors. they build fairly large developments consisting of 30-40 houses or condos at a time.

I really want to design a website for them where people and go and find out more info about the company, about the houses (pics,etc..), and future plans

i have no web design experience but i am pretty good with my mac...i use my mac primarly as a home studio from recording and producing music...

could you guys please help point in the right direction of how you think i can get started with my webpage? my main goal is to have a functional and professional looking website for the family business.

Thanks!!!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
http://www.w3schools.com/

That's where I started. It's a great place to learn HTML, CSS, and Java.

I'd recommend using Macromedia Dreamweaver to build the site, as it seems out of the scope of iWeb...

OP
T
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20 inch intel imac
ok..

ok thanks.

what about the sites i've read from other posts such as programs like goldfish or rapidweaver where you don't really need to know the language but instead use a graphical interface??

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" Powerbook G4 • 24" iMac • iPhone 3Gs
Those work perfectly fine, too.

I find however, that learning the coding process and the background info behind what the WYSIWIG program is doing is far more rewarding and useful in the long run.

Also, the "lite" GUI programs like Rapidweaver, iWeb, Sandvox, etc. don't seem up to the task of making a website like the one you described wanting to create.

If you feel that your site doesn't need all that much customization then those programs would suit you fine.

OP
T