Working With USB Drives

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" Retina 5K iMac 3.2Ghz Quad 24GB RAM, 1TB HD. iPhone 11.
Well I've just taken delivery of my first Mac, a 20" iMac, and am gobsmacked by it! My first thought was "why didn't I switch earlier!".

The only minor niggles I have are ones I'm sure I'll get used to quickly like:

• The @ sign and " swapping places on the keyboard
  • That you don't do Ctrl+C etc but Apple+C
  • No right mouse button

Like I say MINOR niggles.

The one thing that I'm a little unsure of is how best to work with USB drives. I spec'd my iMac with the standard 250GB internal hard drive as I also ordered a 640GB USB drive. The intention is to use the system drive for applications and use the USB drive for data.

Complete Newbie Question (apologies if it's really dumb)

What I'm not sure of is how best to do this in regards to Finder. Putting my Windows head on for a second it seems to me that when you double click on a drive Finder opens and you have the equivalent of My Documents, My Pictures, My Music in the left hand column. However, like in Windows, these appear to be directories on the system drive. Therefore if I move all my documents into these folders than they will be copied onto my system drive. If I do that I will run out of drive space very quickly as I already have 200GB of data that I want to move across from my PC.

So what's the best way of doing this? Is it possible to set OSX to move these Documents/Photos/Music directories to a USB drive like you can in Windows or should I just create the relevant directories on my USB drive and just browse through it at drive level if you see what I mean rather than clicking on the Documents/Photos/Music icons in the left column of Finder?

Hmm, does any of that make any sense? lol

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
macbook 2 GHz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB DDR2 SDRAM, OS X 10.4.8
Makes perfect sense, only i'm a new switcher too!! lol