Couple of External Hardware Questions

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" Retina 5K iMac 3.2Ghz Quad 24GB RAM, 1TB HD. iPhone 11.
Okay, I'm a total newbie. Used PC's for more years than I care to remember and know them back to front but have never used a Mac before and have just ordered my first, a 20" Intel iMac. It hasn't even arrived yet, might be tomorrow!!!, but I have a couple of questions regarding external hardware I hope someone here can answer.

External Back up Drive.

I already have a 250GB USB 2 drive that I use as my backup drive for both my desktop PC and Laptop PC. The desktop is going in the bin but I'll still be keeping and using the PC Laptop. Primarily the backup drive will be for the iMac but as I need to also use it with the laptop how should I format this drive? If I use NTFS the iMac can't write to it, if I use FAT32 it's a little unsecure for a backup drive, if I use HFS or HFS+ the PC can't read it without 3rd party software.

So is FAT32 okay or would it be best to use HFS+ and then use something like MacDrive on my laptop?

External DVD Burner.

My laptop only has a CD burner and my old desktop used to have two DVD drives so as the iMac only has one DVD drive I'm considering buying an external (USB 2) Lightscribe DVD burner for use on both the iMac and PC laptop. Can I buy any old USB burner or does it have to be specifically for the Mac? Looking at the spec of numerous burners most dont specify any OS requirements but those that do only ever seem to mention Windows. I've already ordered Toast 8 which supports Lightscribe.

Reaction score
1. Fat 32 is the only format currently compatible fully with both OSes.
If you need both OSes to be able to add data to the disk, you'll need Fat32. I have a Disk formatted NTFS by my dad but I never write from the mac, I just pull data off it.

2. You can basically use any burner, they should all work fine with the mac.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs