Another new convert!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" macbookpro - 2.33ghz - 2gb RAM - 120gb hd
Hi everybody,
I just ordered my first mac yesterday (a refurb 2.33ghz MBP) and i absolutely can not wait for it to complete its journey across the country to my doorstep. I've been lurking around on this forum the past week or so and it seems like an incredibly helpful place/group of people so i figured i might as well go ahead and join.

I am a graphic design/digital media student and have been using a 17" intel iMac at school the past couple of semesters and absolutely love it. Finally w/ the help of a good tax return and a few months of saving I was able to purchase one for myself! Up until the intel macs i havn't used one since the apple IIe days..stuck on windows machines for all those years. I'm not really a windows hater (at least not yet anyways..) but i definitely feel that OSX is the platform for me. While windows has gotten me through the past decade and ive never really had any major problems, i am very unimpressed w/ vista and it just seems logical for me to be working on a mac.

I do have a question about external hd's though... i'm looking to purchase one soon and i need one that will work seamlessly with my new mbp and my girlfriend's Vaio. We're looking for something around the 160gb range and the western digital MyBook's look like a good buy, does anyone have any experience with these? especially using it interchangeably w/ a windows machine?

Anyways, i'm glad i found this community and i am sure it will be extremely helpful in learning my new machine/os... now i just have to figure out how to be patient waiting for my new machine to get here!

Reaction score
lostdog -- Welcome and enjoy your new MBP!!!