help running programs...

Reaction score
I just started a new job where I will eventually need a laptop in the next few months. I've been wanting one for awhile now, so this will finally give me the drive to go out and get one. I currently own a desktop PC, but want a macbook or powerbook for sure. i've fallen in love with macs over the past year and dont want to get another dell. ANYWAYS, my question is, i will be using lots of software for use with my clients and for business use. it is all windows based software. what do you guys recommend? i REALLY hope there are options that allow me to still have a mac. your help would be great.

thanks.
ryan

Reaction score
G'day daysaway & welcome to Mac-Forums. What software do you plan on using (windows type) and we'll see what's availabe. The news is good in that dept.

OP
D
Reaction score
well.. good question. im not positive what they are called. im an insurance agent, so a lot are programs developed by my company (Bankers Life and Causality) to help crunch numbers and find specific policy premiums for people. a lot of it is power point presentations to show the benefits of the policy's for prospective clients, that i know can easily be run on a mac, but the other software is what im concerned about. i will wish i knew the names of these programs, but i honestly dont at the moment.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13.3" MacBook Intel Core Duo 2GHz, 60GB HD, 512MB DDR2, and the SuperDrive.
Well, there's a nifty little program called "Parallels" that will allow you to run Windows on your Mac.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
As long as the programs aren't resource intensive (which I doubt insurance related software would) then like Sebastian said, go buy this wonderful piece of software called Parallels and you can have Windows and Mac OS X running happily side by side.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook