A switcher with the obligatory questions

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook White 2.0 ghz core 2 duo, 2 gig RAM, 120 gig HD
I think every person who is contemplating switching has this kind of post. :p

Anyway, I'm Keith, a student and average teenager, and I'm thinking about purchasing either a macbook or macbook pro. If it were a regular ol' macbook, it'd be the 2.0 ghz white. Not sure about any pro model. Cost wise, after doing nescessary upgrades I see fit on a macbook, I reach my spending limit. So if it comes down to cost, it's the macbook. But I have a few questions.

I've played with a couple macs before, and find the operating system very sleek and different from my experience with any windows computer. Its something to get used to.

But what I was wondering... Would a 2ghz macbook (with upgraded HD and RAM for me) do all the things I'd need it to? Besides the usual word-processing, web browsing, and everything like that, I tend to tinker in photoshop (I'm an artist) with my wacom tablet. Would it run photoshop without any problems (considering the RAM upgrade) and possibly let me use Parallels smoothly?

Also, the airport cards in them would pick up wifi from a non-airport router, right? (Thats an utterly stupid question, I know :/ )

I hope this isn't clogging up the forums. Thanks.

Keith

Reaction score
The home of the free and the land that did for Bra
Your Mac's Specs
24"iMac, 15"MB-Pro, MacBook, G4 iMac, PM G5 2x2Ghz, G4 iBook & Some PCs
I have one of the last version MacBook whites, i.e 2Ghz Duo rather than Duo 2, and have put in 2G Ram and a 100Gb 7200 HD.

It does everything I want from it (even runs PC games quite well using BootCamp).

And yes, any Wifi s recognised and used, I'm using a Belkin base station for my Wifi with no problems.

Amen-Moses

Oh and I regularly run XP and Debian in Parallels at the same time, with 2 Gb RAM I can allocate 500Mb to both and still have plenty for OSX to run smoothly.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs