Mac Training for the Non-Dummy

Reaction score
I am a Network Technician with over 10 years experience. I have my degree in PC Support and a number of Microsoft classes under my belt. I am A+ and Network+ certified.

In those 10+ years I maybe have 1 hour combined of Mac experience. I am not against Macs, I just have never had a job where that knowledge was needed. At home I have always run what I used at work, I just saw it as more training.

Now I find myself needing to know a little about Macs. I just bought a cheap Mac from eBay for home and plan to load OS X on it. I was thinking of getting "Mac for Dummies" or another beginner book but the books I looked at seem below me. I know what a folder is, I want to know how the Mac handles the security of the folders. I also want to know a little more of the behind the scenes stuff. Teach me where the mail settings are, not how to write an e-mail.

I don't want to spend the money to go to class. Can anyone recommend a book or inexpensive online training that might help me go from being a PC guru to at least not totally lost in Mac land?

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Many people will recommend David Pogues "OS X: The Missing Manual".

I would also point out that while you may have years of experience with Windows, and have several degrees/certifications with Windows and Microsoft.... they amount to absolutely squat in the Mac world. :black: