Mail and Calendar Program

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 2.0GHz, 2GB RAM, 120GB HDD
Hi,

This is my first post here so I am not too sure if this is the right place to post but here goes.

I am planning on buying a MacBook Pro when the new Mac OS X 10.5 comes out in the UK. My current PC is on its last legs and I really can't wait much longer.

I have never had a mac before and I the last time I used one was back in the mid to late 90s when I was a young teenage student learning at Graphic Design!

I currently use Outlook 2003 (not express) for my email needs. I use the calendar features and I have a pop3 and smtp email account.

I really like the look of iCal does that work with the iCalendar standards like Outlook does?

Whats better for email Thunderbird (on a mac) or the program you get with the OS, from what I have been told its named Mail.

Can Thunderbird and iCal work together?

I also get a lot of spam (like 50 a day :( ) does either come with a good spam filter or can you guys tell me of a good one thats either free or does not cost huge sums of money.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod Classic | iPod Shuffle | no more money
Info regarding Thunderbird - this is an excellent piece of software that most certainly includes junk filters - once activated you may find that a few messages slip through if you click on them and then mark them as junk Thunderbird adds the info to its' list of rules and will identify any future similar mail as junk automatically - it is very good. I use Thunderbird all the time and deals with 90% of my junk email - the odd one slips through but like I said - just mark it as junk and Thunderbird knows what to do the next time anything like that or from that address comes to you it'll be automatically dumped in the junk mail folder or the trash depending on your personal prefs.