• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

iMovie Audio problem

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to Mac. Imported my first video into iMovie from my mini-DV camcorder using Firewire 400 and my macbook pro 2.16 GHz with 1G RAM. Importing seemed to go smoothing but as the video was importing I could hear audio drops and distortion and "skips".

I thought it might only be happening during the importing process but I hear the same audio problems and the occasional video skip during iMovie playback. I do NOT hear the problems when I play back the original tape on the camcorder.

Any advice is appreciated.

Mitch

OP
M
Reaction score
Thanks for the idea. I switched the camera to 16 bit but the problem is just as bad. Article you referenced mentions sync problems with 12-bit audo after sending to quicktime or iDVD. My audio hiccups are occuring during importing to iMovie.

Any other ideas would be appreciated. I'm searching myself of course but not sure the best search terms to use.

Thanks,
Mitch

Reaction score
Audio issues within iMovie