Document Files / Personal Files

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
Hi, I am extremely new to macs.
It maybe silly but i've got a question regarding the Documents Folder in my user area.

Where do I save my personal documents (e.g. word, excel, pp, etc)? Can I group the app files in documents into 1 folder?
Can I create another folder at the same level of the tree as documents and chuck all my personal crap in there??

Cheers to all those who reply.

eric

Retired Staff
Reaction score
i just create various folders within the documents folder to contain anything pretty much not a video, picture, or music file. do whatever you'd like in those folders, they're yours!

also, if you create a folder, say, within documents called "mac stuff", you can drag that folder to the area on the bottom left to create a "shortcut" to that folder. you could also drag a folder to the dock and it will create a shortcut there as well.

Reaction score
You can create a folder virtually anywhere on your mac, even in the system's restricted are, if you use your password. Macs are flexible that way, bt very safe so they keep you from doing crap.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro-2.16Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo-3GB RAM-120GB HDD
I just started using a Mac less then a week ago. Similar to Eric, I have used the documents folder as well as the movie, music and pictures folders within my home folder. However under the Documents folder I created a word and excel folder for those respective file types. Also any program installations I download I save in a folder called Software that I created at the root of my home folder.

I am trying to keep it fairly consistent with the way I had it organized on my PC.

M

MacHeadCase

You shouldn't. Mac OS X has a different structure and behaviour. The more you mess with what comes natural to Mac OS X, the more problems you risk getting in the long run.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs