Same topic different day...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
macbook C2D 2.0GHz 2GB RAM 250GB HDD
I am currently using a pc which I hate and my fiance has a powerbook g4 (bought right before apple switched to intel) and I fell absolutely in love with it. I do a lot more of my computing on her laptop now, much to her dismay, since I switched over. Here is my dilemma, my pc is getting well crappy to put it lightly and I want to get a mac, I don't know which mac to get. I am by no means a newbie to using macs I just want some advice on what I should actually get. I love the power of her pb but I don't know if I can swing the cost of a mbp. Mainly what I do on her pb is internet, IMing, watching videos, playing graphically simple games like Sketchfighter 4000. The one thing I don't want poor performance in is ripping dvds using handbrake. Is a macbook enough computing power to do it in a reasonable amount of time and if not does this one thing warrant spending the large sums of money on a macbookpro? I hardly do any photoshop or anything to that effect, so I wouldn't really need the rendering power or anything. I appreciate everyone's help in this matter.

M

MacHeadCase

Welcome to Mac-Forums, FriendlyFireGTI!

Unless portability is essential for you, why not go with the iMac? It's hard to find more bang for your buck, me thinks.

OP
pingpongitore
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs