• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Why doesn't Apple participate in CES?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac 2.7GHz Core i5, iPhone 6, iPad Air 2, 4th gen Apple TV
I'm fairly new to the Apple world, so I've never known this. From an outside perspective, Apple holding their own little conference around the same time seems a little snobbish; something the Apple reputation doesn't need more of.

Thanks.

M

MacHeadCase

You're a worrier, hunh?
icon12.gif

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
3.4 Ghz i7 MacBook Pro (2015), iPad Pro (2014), iPhone Xs Max. Apple TV 4K
I've noticed that too.

Reaction score
They get enough press when they accounce something at Mac World, what would their motivation be to go to CES also?

M

MacHeadCase

One would need to look up CES' history of course (their webpage only says 40th anniversary, no idea when this event has been held in those 40 years), but Macworld as far as I can recall was held at first twice a year, in June and in the second week of January. Then Apple, in the lean years, trimmed it to once a year but chose to keep it in January, still on the second week.

Snobbish? I don't think so. But then again I don't have your outside perspective. I use Macs and I don't care what a show catering mostly to PCs has to offer anyway.